New Covenant & 10 Commandments

“The days are coming,” declares the Lord, “when I will make a new covenant
with the people of Israel and with the people of Judah.  It will not be like the covenant
    I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand to lead them out of Egypt,
because they broke my covenant, though I was a husband to[a] them,[b]
declares the Lord.  33 “This is the covenant I will make with the people of Israel
    after that time,” declares the Lord“I will put my law in their minds
    and write it on their hearts.  I will be their God, and they will be my people.
34 No longer will they teach their neighbor, or say to one another, ‘Know the Lord,’
because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest,”
declares the Lord.  “For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” (Jeremiah 31:31-34 NIV)
Some believe that as Christians we have to keep the Ten Commandments as a part of our salvation.  We are under the new covenant of grace, yet New Testament teachings reveal that as born again believers, we should strive to do the things taught by the commandments because we should have a new nature, and have the laws of God written on our heart.  However, we are ‘justified by faith apart from works of the law.’ (Read Romans.3:21-31).  It teaches us that ‘all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.’  We are justified as a gift by His grace through the redemption which is in Christ Jesus.  Jesus said that the two commandments: 1) ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, and mind’ and 2) ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’ are a summation of all the commandments.  (Matt. 22:36-40)  In other words, if we keep these two commandments, our thoughts and actions will not violate the others.
1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
2. You shall not make for yourself an idol or any likeness of
what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth.
3. You shall not take the name of the Lord in vain.
4. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
5. Honor your father and your mother.
6. You shall not murder
7. You shall not commit adultery.
8. You shall not steal.
9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet
your neighbor’s wife or his male servant or his female servant or his ox or his donkey or anything that belongs to your neighbor.
Post by Rhonda D. Johnson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s